String Quartet No. 1


Digital Score

20:00. String Quartet: Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello

SKU: SW0009 Category: Tag:


I wanted my first major string quartet to be based around a central unifying idea, without being too overly programmatic. I decided to base the four movements around the abstract laws of physics that guide and control our universe.

The first movement, Genesis, seeks to musically outline time and space that began in the Big Bang.

The second movement, Gravity, quite obviously deals with the universal law of gravity.

The third movement, Light, examines the fickle nature of light.

The final movement, Entropy, examines the theoretical concept of Entropy—The idea that everything in the universe is gradually becoming more disorganized and chaotic.

Hear the full quartet here, and consider purchasing it.